CNC Laser Stuff

CNC Router 2If you’ve read my blog before then this picture will be very familiar to you. This is Jay’s CNC router that he purchased last summer. It hadn’t even arrived at the house before he was telling me how he could buy a set-up for this router so that he can also do laser engraving or burning.

Yeah… like I was going to allow Jay to play with a laser in the basement! You have to be careful with them because you can so easily blind yourself by just catching the reflection of the laser in your eye. I didn’t want to take the chance that the cats could possibly wander into the workshop when he was running a laser.

After some compromise, though, and his promise to build a door that he would shut when the laser was running, he ordered it.

Shark with a LaserDue to how the laser fits on the router the shark had to be turned like this. However, we both agreed that if he was going to have a laser then he needed a shark to go with it. So Jay printed one out on his 3D printer.

“You know, I have one simple request. And that is to have sharks with frickin’ laser beams attached to their heads!” ~ Dr. Evil

Dr. Evil would be so jealous…

 

 

So what can we do with a shark that has a frickin’ laser beam attached to his head?

We are still practicing and trying to get consistent results, and I keep forgetting to take pictures, but I did get two pictures of two things that I had Jay make for me.

Poor Bobs!While we are trying to get things dialed in we are trying to use pictures with lots of contrast. They seem to work out the best. I bought a clock blank at Hobby Lobby that was on the clearance rack and I told Jay that I wanted him to put Bob’s picture on it.

 

 

Bob Face ClockIt turned out really good!

I think that I put three coats of polyurethane on it and then Jay put the clock mechanism on it that I had also purchased.

How great is that?

 

 

 

Chester the SuperviosrIf I had a picture of Bob laser engraved, then I had to have one of Chester, too. I had purchased another wooden blank on the clearance rack so I asked Jay to use that. It was just a wall hanging, not a clock, but I wanted to see how it would turn out.

 

 

Chester Laser PictureNot bad! This is a good example, though, of what happens when you have different woods mixed together or just imperfections in the wood. Looking at the blank you wouldn’t have known that there would be one patch that would come out goofy. It’s okay for this picture as Chester is a goofy cat anyway.

 

 

I’ve been doing research on the best woods to engrave with a laser that won’t have a whole lot of grain that shows through. As we do more experimenting I will try to post them on here. Currently Jay is in the process of building two more planes that aren’t his, so it might be a while before I have anything else to post regarding the laser.

This entry was posted in 3D Printing, Cats, CNC Laser, CNC Router and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

