Bookshelf Update

It has been a little bit since I last bragged about my beautiful bookshelves. In fact, I think this is how you last saw them:

12 Feet of ShelvesJay would laugh, but even just seeing this picture makes me so excited! I can’t wait to see them installed in the library and overflowing with my books. My biggest fear is that I will have too many books for this set of shelves and therefore will have to purge my collection a bit.

 

 

Two ShelvesHere are two of the three shelves. They are all assembled. Now it’s up to me to stain and poly them. We are waiting until all three are ready to house the books before we move them. There are two reasons for this: 1) There is no way that I will be able to keep myself from starting the process of organizing my books with one or two shelves in the library. Considering I have a TON of books this will be quite the process and would require me to completely empty every tote and box so that I can correctly shelve them. That’s a mess that I only want to deal with once. 2) Jay said that he’s only opening the basement door (our outside entrance) once. Because these shelves are so large there’s no way we will be able to move them upstairs using the inside stairs. They are too narrow and short. So we will have to take them outside and bring them back in through the kitchen.

Poly'd ShelfA lot of the hardwood in our house is kind of a golden oak, so I had wanted a stain that would compliment them. I know that my mom had to mix two or three different stains together to get the right color that she wanted when she did her trim. I figured that since these will be covered with books that the stain color wasn’t *too* important. I went with what I thought looked oak-ey. After I finished staining the first case, though, it almost looks more like Walnut than Oak. Oh well. They are going to hold my books and that’s all I care about.

Stained ShelfI did one coat of stain (I didn’t want it too dark) and then two coats of poly. It’s not in-your-face glossy, but that’s okay. Again, they are going to be full of books. I just need to be able to get the dust off of them once in a while.

 

 

Stained and Poly'd BookshelfIsn’t it gorgeous??!! I can’t wait until all three of them look like this. I’m working on the second shelf, but I don’t have a lot of time to get anything done. I’m hoping to finish the second shelf this weekend. Hopefully within a week and a half Jay and I can be moving these into the library. Yeah!!! This has to be one of the best Christmas gifts that I’ve ever received. I’m so spoiled!

This entry was posted in books, library, My House and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

