The Packing Process

Before I started to pack up my house in preparation for my upcoming move, I felt that my house looked somewhat like this picture. Yes, there are a few things here and there but for the most part there’s not a ton of stuff to pack. This shouldn’t take me too long!

 

As I attempt to put things into boxes, however, this is how I feel like my house looks. I spend my time after work trying to pack and I feel like I’m not getting anywhere. I put stuff in boxes, label them, put them in a pile and then try to determine where I’m going to pack next. It feels like I’m not accomplishing anything because I can’t stay in one room and pack it. I might have a slight attention problem. lol

I start in the living room, packing my piano books. As I clear off the piano I find something that actually belongs in the spare bedroom. I go in there, see that mess, and start organizing and packing in there. I move this pile of boxes from here to there… I box up this little do-dad and put it in the box over there… I come across a Christmas ornament and then have to search for the Christmas totes so that I can put the ornament with the other stuff. Then I find something that should be packed with the stuff in the desk, so I wander into the library/office and start packing up the stuff in there. It’s bad.

That’s how I clean, too. I can’t stay in one room and clean it from top to bottom. Nope. I wander the house, cleaning here and there. I did this at Jay’s Sunday night. I started out in the bedroom, putting the clean sheets on the bed. Then I noticed that he had clean clothes that should be folded. I started folding them, but then I came across some kitchen towels so I walked out there to put them away. That’s when I noticed that the garbage needed to be changed out, so I pulled it out and headed to the back room where I knew that the other garbage needed to be emptied, too. As I’m walking past the bedroom I realized that I hadn’t finished folding the clothes. I am usually far more efficient than this! There has to be a cure!

You can imagine how much frustration I’m experiencing right now. It’s okay, though. It’s like the one character in the movie Shakespeare In Love constantly says, “Everything will be okay,” and when asked how he replies, “I don’t know. It’s a mystery.” Somehow everything does turn out okay.

I can’t wait to move into our new house! The commute to/from work will not be fun, but hopefully I won’t have to do that for too long. I look forward to going home to see Jay every night, even though it will only be a few hours during the week. I can’t wait to have my cats back with me, too. I know that it’s going to take a while for me to get everything unpacked and sorted, and I look forward to having Bob and Chester help me with that. They are such good helpers! I hope that Jay’s mom doesn’t react to them. She is allergic to cats, but doesn’t always react. Technically, I’m allergic to cats, too. I compensate for it by living on allergy medicine (which I would have to do even if I didn’t have cats) and trying to keep the fur and dander level down in the house with lots of vacuuming and dusting. It’s a pain, but well worth it. With Jay working at night it will be nice to have company when he’s not around. I’ve really missed the cats these past two weeks. Now I’m just days away from having them back with me!

Anyway, tonight continues the packing chaos. I have a list of things that need to get packed tonight. Hopefully that will keep me on track and limit the wandering.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Packing Process

  1. Jamie says:

    If it helps at all, there are literally dozens of methodologies behind cleaning (most of which could also be applied to packing). Only a handful suggest that you clean a single designated space at a time, so really you’re not distracted you’re just using an alternative methodology. Exercising your uniqueness, as it were. 🙂
    Besides, in all the times I’ve moved I’ve never yet learned how to make it a clean, graceful process. As long as everything ends up at the new place relatively in one piece, it’s all good. And having furry supervision to assist with the unpacking will go a long way!

Leave a Reply

