More House Dreams

Today I signed the insurance papers for the house, so apparently I have a closing date of November 1st. My lawyer has yet to tell me that, but let’s not get me started on them! In order to feel better about the whole situation I’ve been trying to think of what colors I want to paint the walls; how I will arrange my kitchen; and where my furniture will go in the living room. There are a couple of things that I’m really looking forward to in my house.

1) The Library

Okay, so that’s not what my actual library will look like. Yes, this is the library at the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC. When I first walked into that room on my visit to the Estate I turned to my friend Sarah and said, “Sarah! Somebody was in my head and brought my dream library to life!!” Look at all of those books! Doesn’t it just quietly whisper to you to pick out a book and take a seat by the cozy fire? I realize that the library at my house won’t be nearly as wonderful, but it will be great to have an entire room to house my books. This is what my library looked like a few years ago:

I have drastically outgrown this shelf. I currently have two big plastic totes filled with books sitting in front of that shelf, plus 5 copy paper boxes that are also filled with books. This is all in preparation for moving. The sad thing is that I haven’t even started packing the books that are ON the actual shelf. Oh, and that’s not the only bookshelf that I have right now with Civil War books on it. I can’t wait to have all of my books on shelves!

2) Playing the Piano whenever I want!

That is, as long as it’s not in use for a cat bed. *sigh* Seriously. The cats think that it’s a large, good looking cat bed. They are always amazed when I open up the keyboard and they hear the noise coming from it. My giant cat bed currently sits in the living room so I don’t have a lot of opportunities to play it. It seems that either somebody is watching TV or else my dad is upstairs in bed (which is right above the living room). Thus, the fact that I can play the piano at 10 pm if I want makes me happy! The only ones who will complain will be Bob and Chester. And unlike kids, there’s no law against putting cats in time out by shutting them in the bathroom for 15 minutes. 🙂

3) A completely GLUTEN FREE Kitchen!!!

I can’t wait until I don’t have to worry that there might be crumbs in the mayonnaise or peanut butter jars. Knowing that any crumbs that might be on the counter are gluten free will lift a ton of worry from me. I will know that everything in the house is gluten free and I don’t have to worry about cross contamination or somebody accidentally using my toaster and possibly not telling me. Can you imagine??

Those are the three biggest things for me right now. When the stress and frustration start to get to me I just close my eyes and I imagine walking into my kitchen to grab my slices of GF toast from the toaster. Then I walk through the living room where I stop to give Bob and Chester kisses as they sleep on the piano, and then continue down the hall to the library where I am reading the latest book that has been written about Stonewall Jackson. Doesn’t it sound heavenly??

This entry was posted in Biltmore Estate, books, gluten free, library, piano. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More House Dreams

  1. Jamie says:

    It sounds absolutely perfect! So excited for you! Someday I will have a library too, so we'll have to compare notes on style ideas. :0)

Leave a Reply

